employment offices; the collection and publication of statistics relating to employment; wages and hours of labour throughout the province; strikes and other difficulties; trade unions and labour organizations; the relations between capital and labour, and other subjects connected with industrial problems; the commercial, industrial and sanitary conditions of employment; raw products of Saskatchewan and their industrial possibilities; other matters related to industrial development

Alberta Bureau of Labour.—The Act of 1922, creating the Alberta Bureau of Labour, provided that the Bureau be in charge of a Minister having under him a Commissioner of Labour. The latter is empowered to collect and publish information and statistics affecting labour, and to administer such Acts as may be assigned to the Bureau by Order in Council. Important among these Acts are: The Alberta Government Employment Bureau Act; The Minimum Wage Act; The Boilers Act; The Factories Act; The Theatres Act; The Trade Schools Act. The Bureau issues annual reports.

The British Columbia Department of Labour.—This Department was instituted by an Act of 1917, under a Minister and Deputy Minister of Labour. It administers the laws of British Columbia affecting labour, and is empowered to collect information respecting industries, wages, employment, prices, labour organizations and other data pertaining to labour problems. Prominent among the Acts under the jurisdiction of the Department are: The Minimum Wage Act for Female Employees; The Male Minimum Wage Act (passed in 1929); The Hours of Work Act; The Semi-Monthly Payment of Wages Act; The Factories Act. The Department also operates the employment bureaus within the province. The Deputy Minister of Labour is *ex officio* Chairman of the Board of Adjustment under the Hours of Work Act of 1923, which, with exceptions, provides for the eight-hour working day in industry; he is also Chairman of the Male Minimum Wage Board and Chairman of the Minimum Wage Board for Women. Annual reports are published by the Department, containing much information respecting labour matters.

## Section 4.—Canada and the International Labour Organization.<sup>1</sup>

The International Labour Organization of the League of Nations was set up in 1919 in accordance with Part XIII of the Treaties of Peace, to promote the improvement of industrial conditions by legislative action and international agreement.

The Organization comprises the Permanent International Labour Office in Geneva, Switzerland, and the International Labour Conference, which meets annually and is composed of four representatives of each Member State, two of whom are government delegates, while two represent the employers and the employed respectively. Fifty-eight countries are members of the International Labour Organization, including all of the important industrial countries of the world except the United States.

The International Labour Office functions as a secretariat of the annual conference, and also collects and publishes information on subjects relating to industrial life and labour. The Office is under the control of a Governing Body consisting of

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup>On this subject see also the 1921 Year Book, pp. 607-609; 1922-23 Year Book, pp. 704-707; 1924 Year Book, pp. 666-670; 1925 Year Book, pp. 676-678; 1926 Year Book, pp. 679-681; 1927-28 Year Book, pp. 735-737; 1929 Year Book, pp. 725-727; 1930 Year Book, pp. 710-712; 1931 Year Book, pp. 753-755 and 1932 Year Book, pp. 633-634.